Oh No He Didn’t

oh no he didnt

Welcome to my first official Mommy Blog.
I have been bloggin for years but not to any direct audience.
I decided to start this blog because after four children, an MS diagnosis and living in Newtown CT, I thought people just might be interested in what I have to say.

Sunday night, after preparing the Super Bowl food, my husband, I and three of my kids, the oldest upstairs in his compound, sat down to watch the game.  Actually, me and my two girls just watch the commercials, but I digress.

So, we are sitting enjoying the “game” when all of the sudden my husband gets up and goes into the breakfast room to watch the superbowl on the teeny tiny tv.  Now I worked my *** selling stuff on Ebay to buy the big flat screen five years ago.  So I say, “Husband….why are you sitting in the kitchen when we are all in here?”

He grunts a reply about my youngest daughter annoying him.
Fine!  I decide to bring the snacks into the kitchen until the commercials came back on:)
A few minutes later, I hear him talking to my oldest who descended from his manboy cave.  He says, and I s**t you not, “When you find a girlfriend, make sure she knows how to use a dishwasher!”

“Whaaaattt?”
Come on ladies, you get it!

I proceed to watch the halftime show, I’ll comment on that in another post, and go in my bedroom.  Seething with loathing!!!

Next day, I decide to erase any trace of “us” prior to babies, in my bedroom.
Hubby didn’t like me taking down our wedding photo.  Oh well!

Anyhow, to make a long story short, eventually he got it!
When he asked me why I took down our pictures I said, and you may want to get a pen because it worked:  “When you begin to treat me like your wife, the woman you married, and not like a mother, I will put the pictures back up!”
Any attempt at explaining I quickly shut down.

Is there a point to all of this information?
Yes!
I know that he loves me as the mother of our children.
And I know that he needs me to raise our children.
But….I also know that he doesn’t see ME anymore.
He doesn’t watch his words around me or say, “God Bless You” when I sneeze.

My little act of defiance and wordless anarchy worked and who got into bed last night first?

He did.  Nuff said.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

