A Poem for Newtown

Melancholy
Last night I was looking
through Internet haze
I stumbled upon a most
Frightening page.

Our protectors
who first showed
On that horrible day
Were speaking of things
I just could not engage

It brought me to thoughts
Of my own family
Safely, securely sleeping
Right above me.

No worries I had
No feeling of fear
How could I sit here
And not hold back tears?

The reasons are simple
Not one, more than twenty
My reasons are faces and lives
No longer among me.

For even though life does
Go on in my town
And even though we all do
Not wear sorrowful frowns
This story I read has
Been part of me
And everyone else here in Newtown.
Don’t you see?

The medias gone
And we aren’t the center
Of controversed chatter
And gossiping splendor

We are all still in mourning
We are all still so empty
Remembering those angels
Our children, our families.

And I feel on that most
Terrible awful day
A part of us all was taken away

I feel that I lost one of my own
In a way

So, this morning I woke
There was no sun to greet me
And my first thought was
Why I will live life so sweetly.
Connected we are
This town and the people

The sun will not shine
As it did prior to evil

Now I end with a most special
Prayer for those left
Who live with true loss
And cannot catch their breath.

We love you, this town
They love you, the world
And the great Lord Himself
Only knows what you feel

Never doubt
that your losses
And beautiful babies
Will flee from the minds
Of us ever
I claim this.

And I think I can say
For us all in this town
We will never forget
Nor ever back down

20130209-200257.jpg

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in I Live in Newtown, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

