Cross In the Clouds, St. Rose of Lima Church, Newtown, CT

20130213-131806.jpg

Today is Ash Wednesday. For Roman Catholics, and I’m not sure who else, it’s a pretty important day. It begins the season of Lent. Lent lasts for 40 days and ends on Easter Sunday.

In my house, we observe Lent as best we can. I am the most devout in the house. My husband and son could care less. My husband being a former parochial school graduate and having extremely devout parents. My girls are leaning towards learning the ways as i have and following the “rules.”. My 5 year old just knows God and that’s enough.

Although I am obedient in terms of the rules of the church, I do use utilize the motto “Take what you can and leave the rest.”. I think this thought process has sustained me in not leaving and turning away from the church due to scandal, economics, etc. I also think my views are different because I looked for God as a young person. And I found him. On my own terms and willingly.

I am a true believer and I know the difference between “man” and “God.”
Nuff said about that.

So I was at mass this morning to get my ashes and Monsignor Bob Weiss told us about a picture that was taken at St. Rose of Lima Church in Newtown on the morning of the Sandy Hook School Tragedy.

If you look at the photo, and I know the guy who took it so I know it is not doctored in any way, there is an odd cloud formation. It is in the shape of a cross. Msgr. Bob also said he saw the face of Jesus, but I don’t see that.

Now I know there are plenty of you out there who could care less and those who think coincidence, and that’s fine with me, but like I said I am a true believer. All I see is in the photo is God’s presence in our little town right at that moment, when we were going to need him most.

It’s not easy to see things in a spiritual way unless you are open to it. Like I tell people all the time. It is okay to not believe in anything and it is okay to believe in something different.

All I know is what I believe.
With all of the tribulation in my personal life, and all of the evil that has visited our little town, I get comfort in that photo.

Whether its true or not?

I won’t know until I am dead, and when I am dead, I won’t be worrying about anything. Loneliness will never be a word in my vocabulary. Partly because I have four children and secondly because I am always looking up.
(no bird jokes please!)

So, there you have it.

Do with this information anything you like. But for those many of you out there that are like me, and I know there are A LOT of us, I say take it in baby!

Rejoice and be glad!

Peace be with everyone else because after all, we’re all in this together!

20130213-131842.jpg

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Home, I Live in Newtown and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cross In the Clouds, St. Rose of Lima Church, Newtown, CT

  1. jennifernavin@sbcglobal.net says:

    Amazing. No other words can describe it.

  2. Karen Mullen says:

    I was at Mass too. My kids go to school at St. Rose, but I hadn’t seen the photo before. It brought tears to my eyes on Wednesday and again as I read your post.
    Wow… just wow.
    Thank you for posting!

  3. Reblogged this on Go Play in Traffic and commented:

    I am re-posting this post because at St. Rose of Lima in Newtown, CT this was confirmation weekend. I am in the choir and Msgr. Weiss mentioned the cross cloud formation at all three services. So, I thought it would be nice to post again. Additionally my oldest made his confirmation last night. Very proud and grateful.

Leave a Reply

