Prologue to Valentine’s Day! WTF!

20130213-150826.jpg

No roses of red.
No violets so blue.
I am like mother Hubbard,
Sitting here in her shoe!

The children have candy.
Cards filled with devotion.
I’ll get the leftovers,
Half eaten and broken.

How I long for the days,
Of sweet I Love You’s.
Trips down to Broadway,
And dinner for two.

Walks arm in arm.
Sweet treats, outside table.
WTF?
Even Starbucks,
Would earn him some favor.

But wait!
Could there possibly
be something for mommy?
It’s a card signed “From me”
Left on table from hubby.

It must be my pajamas,
I wear through the day?
Or maybe, face wrinkled,
and hair turned all grey?

Sixteen years.
Thats the issue that’s
Cramping my style.
Four babies we made
We’re just worn out and tired.

And the body I had,
when we cuddled til dawn.
Has never returned,
To put on that thong.

I was thinking that instead
of complaining this year,
I’d buy myself Reese’s
and a big Ice cold Pepsi:)

Then when everyone’s nestled,
All snug in their beds.
I’ll have visions of Brad Pitt,
dance in my head.

Buble is invited.
Connick Jr, come too.
I’m sure I can think,
of some fun things to do.

But alas, it’s a dream,
That never will be.
After all I love him,
And he really loves me.

The candy and flowers,
The shows and the dinners,
Are all put on hold.
And won’t change,
It’s that simple!

That couple that used
to be carefree and merry,
Is now more than six,
Including dog and the birdies

The truth is,
I’d rather spend love day
with them.
I’d rather share candies
and watch them all dance.

They are what happened,
Resulting from us.
I wouldn’t change that
for The Chippendale Bus!

So mommy’s,
And wives,
Of men seeming so careless.
There’s nothing behind,
Potted plants,
It’s just this,

When we took our vows,
And decided to spawn.
We became Queen of a Family.
Not just a pawn.

If viewed through the glasses,
Of love and devotion.
That old guy with no butt left,
Is slower in motion.

And in the mirror
I dread to look into most days,
I have to say, together,
We still look okay.

The truth of the valentines
mayhem I see,
Is that I have a partner,
And he still has me.

And when we are older,
Quite older and frail.
He’ll remember the roses,
And the candy, probably stale.

And we’ll sit there together,
Trading insults and winks.
And we’ll continue to love,
And continue to see.

One day in the year,
Isn’t evidence of us.
It’s all those days turned to years,
It’s Devotion I trust.

So, I already know how my
day will turn out.
I will smile and feel loved,
Without a doubt!!!

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

