The Life of a Dog, Poem for Biscuit

I was sitting in the backyard watching my little dog laying around, soaking up the sun without a care in the world.  I wrote this poem.

He sings too!

The Life of a Dog

The life of a dog
I just lay in the sun
Atop all the grass
Can’t you see, it’s quite fun

Rolling here, rolling there
while the butterflies flutter
Wondering what I’ll be eating
for supper.

The leaves are all changing
but I can’t see their colors.
I only know that cause
they’re filling the gutters.

But many are falling down
to the ground
So I get right to work
rolling round and around.

Alas…what is that different
sound that I hear?
I listen intently and flip up my ears.
It’s brother and sister moving about.
“Come in…come inside!”.
I can hear them as they shout out.

At night when the darkness
has covered the day,
I lay on the couch,
I have nothing to say.
Sleepy and drifting.
Watch dog? I am trying.
But they say I can’t hurt
even a fly that is flying.

Catdog daddy calls me with
a grin on his lips.
So I like to perch
onto ledges and sit.
Watching here watching
there I alert to small changes.
I doubt that a cat can put
fear into strangers.

I am little! So what!
Cats have nothing on me!
I can bark…I can swim…
I don’t meow and just sleep!

I am a dog!
And a dog I will be.
I will play… I will run…
roll around and I’ll sleep.

But the job that I do
no human can compare.
I sit and dry tears,
comfort here…Comfort there
I greet with a vengeance and
bring smiles to their faces.
Even in the most
devastating of cases.

Sleep now I will do
As tomorrow will come
I’ll start over again and
I’ll have lots of fun.

The life of a dog is as easy can be.
But no other dog is as loving as me.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

