Why do people cringe when someone says Jesus outside of church?

I have a question which I pose to all of you and to myself. I have been thinking about this lately. It must be because of Lent.

Did you ever notice that when you are out, or reading a blog or Facebook post, even my blogs, that you get uncomfortable when you hear or read the name of Jesus not in it’s “proper setting”?

I am pretty catholic and I realized that I always say God without a problem. But Jesus? Very few and far between.

Is it because I don’t want people looking at me like I am a Jesus Freak?

Is it because it is not politically correct?

Or, am I “The modern day Peter?” Adoring and worshipping Him in private and pretending not to know Him when I’m around other people?

It really is a sad state, and I am speaking for myself, no judgement here, that the one who I rely on, the one I would die for, the one I can only hope to spend the rest of eternity with is black listed when anyone else is listening.

Someone told me something today and it may be too religious for some of you to hear but I am saying it anyway.

Here it goes:

The reasons me and so many other true believers hesitate or don’t mention His name out loud is because, get ready, Satan is dissuading us. The truth of the matter, I think and have been told by others, is that when someone says the name of Jesus with complete faith, out loud, Satan runs away screaming.

It’s like the fox hole prayer we’ve all said at one point in our lives or another. You know, when you’re sick from drinking too much, or you’re getting locked up for something, or your placing a bet with the last few dollars you have to feed the family. We say, me included, get me out of this one and I’ll never do it again. Or I promise I’ll go to church every Sunday, blah, blah, blah.

So my point to all of this is that I am going to really try, with the help of God’s grace, to faithfully say Jesus’ name when it is Him I am speaking of. I won’t replace it with Higher Power, God, Creator,etc just so I don’t make someone uncomfortable.

No one feels bad that my kids can’t mention God in The Pledge of Allegiance, or Merry Christmas,, etc.

I honestly don’t care if someone gets weirded out or makes fun of me. The truth is I am not a Jesus Freak, I am a follower of Him. If I was in another country I wouldn’t say Clinton was my president because people don’t like Obama. I tread lightly enough already.

With that said, I am not going to sell everything I own and walk the streets with a sign proclaiming the end of the world.

I am going to sit here in my chair and do the things I know that are right. I’ll help people who need help, I’ll go to church, not eat lemon ices and enjoy my day knowing that I ‘m doing the best that I can.

Because no matter how difficult my life may seem, or how afflicted others may perceive me to be, my only intention is to do right in JESUS’ eyes. See. I said it. Loud and proud.

Have a great rest of the days.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why do people cringe when someone says Jesus outside of church?

  1. spinache says:

    In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

