An Unusual Change of Perspective

Funeral today
Not the last for this week
Another friend passed
His body, too weak

As I sit and I think
I’ve been in the middle of death
First the children in town
Then lots of old friends

And I wonder what they
Would say to me, if they could
About the worries I have
That lurk and consume

I would think they would say
Stop worrying so much
Start eating those cupcakes
Start writing that book

Take a trip with the kids
And sell that damn house
That keeps me so frantic
And running around

In the end when they burn me
And scatter my ashes
It won’t be this house
Or the car I attach to

I’ll be on the rose bushes
And landing in nests
Sprinkle here, sprinkle there
Oh I’ll make quite a mess

And in little brown envelopes
I’ll be mailed to all places
With instructions that say
“Take me with you, get creative.”

So I’ll travel the world
Like I’d love to do
I might even have people
Take a photo or two

And mail them all back
To my grieving sweet children
Who will know that their mother
Finally made it, and dare them

To, instead of waste time
Filling closets and spaces
With stuff they won’t need
In almost all cases,

Go out, have your family
And that vital component
Opportunity, love and that
Spur of the moment

I say this because
As I sat in that pew
That’s exactly what I wish
That I could go do

But I’m happy right here
Knowing I do my best
And when Jesus comes calling
I’ll take off the life vest

Because isn’t life more
Than a couple of things
That you pass to your kids
I would rather leave wings

Teach them to fly
Through this life feeling free
To see all the sights
And dream all their dreams

These funerals have done something
I never expected
Instead of the sadness
They’ve changed my perspective

So thank you my friends
For all that you’ve done
When you were here with me
And now that you’re gone

I’ll take my advice
But won’t jump on a plane
I’ll sing more with my kids
And play dreaded board games

I’ve got four awesome reasons
Not to lay down and rest
I better stop wasting
The time I have left

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

