A Tree and Two Birds, Short Story by 14 year old son

A Tree and Two Birds

 The tall, brown barked and green leafed tree stood motionless in its spot, and looked up wearily at the cold, windy, dark sky. The trees old and splintered leaves lay still on the spiky grass, and its acorns lay dead upon the ground as if spilled completely on a purpose.

Two beautiful red and brown robins soared quietly, but quickly down from the dark black sky and perched onto the trees branch. After latching there small claws onto the wide long trees right arm, the two birds shook their feathers violently and drenched the trees worn out face with water to alert him. Awaking the grumpy old tree he let out a loud wine.

 “Gosh dang it get off of me yer old useless filth!” yelled the annoyed old awaken tree. 

 As the birds jerked their heads up, down and left and right, they made a relieved breath as they saw the old tree with a surprised grin spread across his face.

 “Oh, me sorry with all my heart ole tree, we just here on your arms here to get a good short rest. You must have heard of that ole storm coming your way from your rear east. We headed west and been flying for twelve hours straight over these god forsaken eastern states. But who knows what is west, away from this storm is all we know and wanna know. But gee whiz, that dang storm was phenomenally extraordinary, it took out that old house with the bird feeder, am I right?”

Replied the 2nd bird to the first one.

 “Well what’s the point of lyin to the ole tree?”

Replied the first bird to the 2nd.

  The tree looked down confidently at the hard, firm, cold earth and raised his eyebrows to the highest.

  “Eh, what storm you talkin bout you two lousy piles of feather. I’m 346 years old and 324 days of age!  You expect this heavy load of sturdy oak wood I got here to break apart from a little windy rain storm you fools are talking about? I’m a pure oak; I’ve been livin here before this garden here was even planted. You see that nice fine house ova there? I’ve been livin here by meself before the first wood plank was nailed over there. And you think your foolish storm is gonna take me out? I lived through every holy hurricane that passed through this meadow and you foolish twits doubt me? Well you know what I think, I think you betta make like a tree and get out of here before that storm of yours comes ova here, and wipes you out plump in your rear!”

 The 2 birds fluttered their wings and floated above the trees branches as the wind shook them.

  “Me and my brother are not here to be any sort of mean yah knows. We are just here to warn you ole tree. That storm is as large as the dark sky above your head. Your just a tree, and were just birds, you can’t be so confident, It blew us right off our old nice home tree, and that tree, oh being how nice it was, it flew right through the window of the nice old ladies house, the one with the bird feeder. It went right through her front livin room window. 

And you, you look like a nice ole tree too, just like the one back in our home, and I don’t wanna see you go through an old women’s window too, and to my inner thoughts, I know neither do you.  And so me and my brotha are just here to warn you tree, you will need more than strong arms and sturdy roots to out stand this storm, cause I’m sorry ole friend but you won’t be living through this one if you’re the luckiest of them all trees.”

The birds replied as they fluttered their wings and soared higher than the trees head, and heightened some more.

“So long tree, and good luck in this here storm, and we’ll see yah then later if you survive.”

 And the birds flew far and gone away. The tree squinted its eyes and gazed at the birds, and back at the sky.

 “And stay out you smelly dogs butoon, I won’t be needing to see you anymore you lousy birds! And down you dare come back, I got enough of my own company and some of yours will be enough for me.”

 And the tree fell completely silent, as he knew in his heart he didn’t mean that.

After the storm, the two red and black robins flew back past the western states and headed toward the garden to check on the old, grumpy tree again.

Only to flutter blankly upon the air, and see nothing but one of the trees old acorns.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

