I am a Snowflake

Snowflakes
softly settle
Air clean, crisp
and sweet
A New England postcard
Clearly pristine

Purity
encompassing
All I would achieve
If I were a snowflake
Appear now
But soon leave

Sitting still
For a time
Resting without
Interruption
Armed with nothing
But brilliance
Complete Perfection

But as with
all beauty
Its hold
quickly subsides
Daybreak brings
Instant atonement
And some beauty dies

Melting quickly
Being trampled
Shoes disfigure
Their trace
As all are unique
And all have a face

Then as if all is lost
The sun finally sets
And those
who cleverly
stayed hidden
Have a few
moments left

Still in shadows
Inside crevices
Under porches
And trees
Fleetingly
grasping
It’s last winters eve

But as we
All the ones
Who are snowflakes
At heart
Our uniqueness
Our transparency
We are also works of art

Sitting quietly
Filled with wonderment
Words come quickly
Simple visions
We rest softly
In shadows
Taking mental
Motion pictures

Writing words
That paint images
Conjure feelings
Emotion
Create literary
Theatre
With our words
Our compulsion

And as quickly
As ideas
are put
on our pages
New words
Come out bursting
Painting new views
Set new stages

Oh how lovely
This feeling
Hovering still
Yet unseen
As I am that snowflake
Drifting in
on the breeze

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

