New Debate in Newtown

There is a huge debate going on in my town right now. So I thought I would put it out there to all of you.

The town is voting to place armed security guards in all the public schools in Newtown. They have allocated $60,000 to the two private school in town.

Most of the children who attend the private schools live in Newtown and their parents pay taxes for public education but choose to have their kids go to private.

Here’s the big problem.
The amount of money allocated will nowhere near cover the costs to the private school for armed security.

I told the principal I would happily sit in the parking lot with a shot gun, but she didn’t think that was a good idea. Bronx kid here! But I digress.

Many Newtowner’s feel they should not have to pay more taxes for private school children. The most recurring
Sentence is, “They chose to put their kids in private school so they should have to pay for the security.”

My feeling about the whole subject is the children’s safety overall. We pay a lot already, what’s a few more bucks.
That being said, I am a little un-nerved by the whole idea of having armed security guards watching my first grader as he walks to the lunch room.

I grew up in the Bronx, NY and know how violence can change people. My single mother of four was robbed with a gun to her head in the hallway of our apartment house. She was more upset about him taking all the Christmas money. Violence is a cancer that breeds on fear and the unknown. And it definitely spreads.

How do we know someone else will not come in again and kill my children?

Although that may seem to be a valid fear, I think it is highly unlikely in Newtown, where a week prior to the incident, wasn’t ever a fart on the map, that this will ever happen again.

Excuse my choice of words but it’s true.

I also have a feeling that most of the nay sayers are either single with no children or their children have already gone through the system and they’re tired of paying.

What happened to all of the money sent to Newtown for healing? I have no idea. I think the families are being taken care of as they should. I am pretty sure that’s what the money was intended for. But it is a valid question which I cannot answer.

Either way, I would love to hear what all of you have to say about this. No debates or judgements. Just opinion.
Opinion matters and voices should always be heard whether we agree with them or not:)

I look forward to what you all have to say.

I’m tired of posting comments on
the Newtown Patch.

Well, I am off to a mini retreat today where the mother of one of the victims is speaking. Her message is of peace, acceptance and trust in God. No anger or blame. She has a beautiful message. And right now I would rather listen to her. I’ll ask her for permission to post a reflection she wrote on my blog.

You all (or most of you) would love it.

Keep looking up!

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Articles, I Live in Newtown and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

