Explaining the Passion to Children This Holy Week

Today is the first day of Holy Week.
This is the week that marks the beginning of Jesus’ walk to crucifixion and then rising to save us.

I facilitate the children’s Living Stations of the Cross. We had practice today in the church. It’s an interesting dynamic when dealing with children and the Passion. Some have very little idea ofwhat they are involved in. Others know the stations.

But, I have to say that I am somewhat like the old Irish nun when it comes to respecting my religion and what Jesus did for us. I think I learned this respect from my Great Aunt Anna who was devout and walked the walk. There was no disrespect.

The first thing I do is sit down and explain to all the participants what we are doing and why. I make sure that they know that Good Friday is actually the saddest day in the catholic faith. They look at me strange. I go on to explain that although Jesus told His followers He would rise in three days, they didn’t know for sure.

Faith is believing what we can’t see.
So, I have them imagine how difficult this was. Seeing their Messiah be murdered on a cross and then wait three whole days to see if He rises. That’s like having all of your Christmas presents under the tree and having to wait three days to open them.

All in all it went well.
A class of sixth grade religious Ed students were in the church watching, giggling and talking. I stopped my children, turned to them and asked them what they thought was so funny. I also told them to keep it down. I taught in the Bronx prior to moving to Newtown so when I talk in my teacher voice, the kids usually listen.

It was funny that by the end of our practice, most of the sixth graders were engaged in the performance.

I told them that we were dedicating the performance to the victims on our town.
That changed their behavior slightly.

Either way, I think we all learned a little bit today. Earlier in the day I watched half of “The Passion of the Christ.”. I find it horrifying. When I think of His walk, I envision the movie. And my gratitude is boundless.

Well, that’s it for today.

Goodnight.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in I Live in Newtown, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

