My Anna, My Love on her 13th Birthday

Today is my daughter Anna’s 13th Birthday.
I wrote this poem for her.

My Anna, My Love

From the day she was born,
a gift we were given.
A blessing from God.
her presence uplifting.

A beautiful baby,
with sparkling eyes.
who is now adolescent.
She’s stunning and wise.

Her heart filled with love,
for all she encounters.
Her actions always selfless.
An artist of brillliance.

I remember the day,
she was given to me.
She came into this world,
with grace peacefully.

I saw her and thanked,
my God up above.
For He gave me this child,
a child filled with love.

To consider for a moment,
that this child so sweet,
would be strong and so brave,
in the face of adversity.

For times she endured,
what no person should.
She walked through her pain,
with humility and withstood.

For how could this small one,
be inspiring and free,
when surrounded by fear,
and uncertainty.

A free spirit she was,
and still is in every way.
She considers all others,
in spite of her day.

And the beauty of her,
is shown ever so clearly.
Through her paintings,
and drawings,
and her gift of life simply.

Nothing more does she want,
then be loved by her family,
and live life in a way,
her God has intended.

The lessons she’s taught me,
go beyond explanation.
To detail each one,
would be quite an exertion.

So today,
when my Anna,
has gone from girl to young lady.
My gift to her is,
words that will never escape me.

And I know that she’ll teach me,
so much more in every way.
Because spirit and light,
emit from her each day.

A light that is brighter,
than any I’ve encountered.
A beauty of goodness,
is all that surrounds her.

Happy Birthday,
my Anna,
my gift from above.
My wish for you this day,
Is to know you are loved.

Love Mom

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

