I HATE MS, A Poem from the heart!

I’m always amazed
How quickly things change
One day I’m up dancing
The next day in bed

Barely can walk
Speaking a task
Hobbling around
Like a drunk with a flask

What evil could cause
Such a change
And so quickly

It’s MS
My foe
Vindictive
and
sneaky

It sneaks up on me
like a mosquito at dusk
I can’t see it coming
But it hits me no less

And how does this vixon
End up on my door
Well, no one knows
And there isn’t a cure

No magical pill
Or drug that can kill it
It’s like a bad joke
But I still don’t get it

It cares not for plans
Or responsibility
It cares not
For who it attacks
Universally

The rich and the poor
The black and the white
Doctors, musicians
Children and moms

We’re all in the same boat
With nothing to do
But sit and just wait
Till the damage runs through

And waiting,
That is the least of our plight
Most of us just don’t sit around
We still fight!

Fight the fatigue
Fight the wheel chair
Fight off the steroids
That dangle in air
Fight off the nausea
Fight off the pain
Intimidation
is the name of this game

I look like a drunk
When I forego the cane
But the worst like I said
Is that it all seems in vain

My life is the same
But the struggle is different
Cause MS takes something
Every time that it visits

One time it’s some vision
Another some strength
But each time
It takes
And it takes
And it takes

I do pray to Him
And He’s carried me here
But I know that my luck
Will not last
That’s my fear

I’ll be seen as a victim
Of MS warfare
The sympathy looks
and oh so sad stares
I’ll smile and be cordial
But I know noone cares

And when that time comes
I will accept it
But I won’t sit pouting
Without fighting the verdict

I’ll write out my words
that I love and do well
I’ll be the same person
The Bronx Mom from Hell

I’ll still host holidays
and attend all the gatherings
I’ll just need a ramp
and some arms that are strapping

So, MS
You hit me as hard
as you can
I will not stay down
Not now
and
Not then!!!!!

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

