Marionetta on a String, My Ode to Poe, National Poetry Day

Today is National Poetry Day.  My neighbor is a High SchoolEnglish teacher and told me.

This morning I was reading works from my favorite author, Edgar Allen Poe.
So, I decided to write a Poe-esk poem and re-write it in contemporary English.  Which explains the language used in the first version and the change in the second version immediately following.

The second version will not have all the thy’s, thou’s and thee’s.
See which one you all like better.

Please remember to vote for your preferred version of the poem and leave comments. I can also take constructive criticism.  Anything else will make me sad.  Just kidding.

Seriously, I am interested in seeing what style of writing is preferred.
Thanks.

Marionetta on a String

“Complete thy task and reap the reward thou hath sought after.”

Thy words still ring in these ears,
revoking my essence and very soul.
Thine apathetic eyes stinging the one
who ought be me,
Completing the task so to receive thy love.
A love from thee who spoils and taunts my core,
Ere wanting to be seen by more.
My wanting would have a cost.

For what I incurred,
was the curse of thine slanted tongue,
Lifeless, motionless and left in vain.
I abided by thee with bated breath,
My existence hinged on tidings of love,
Falsified in the advent of thy malevolent endeavor.
Thine eyes are those of Judas,
And thy will be the same of he.

As mine eyes flicker left to right,
With body braced and broken,
Having lit the fire,
to follow my beloved’s command.
In mine own eyes determined to appease,
whilst right dictated the flame
be turned back to me.
Enveloped in Satan‘s hearth,
I wailed and pleaded left to ash by thee,
Keeping vigil as I tempered.

Winged cherubs dispatched
on my behalf,
came to retrieve my blackened heart
and skin charred to thy delight.
And through the flames that charred mine own flesh,
I spied eyes of evil twinkling.
Dancing and reflecting the me perceived,
By thine own creation.
Metamorphosed from autonomy to bondage.
Swearing allegiance to the loyalty of thee.

Thine own will became mine,
and in my suffering and despair,
I continued to reverence thee.
Becoming pawn despite expectations to be queen,
Loyalty and conformity begot humiliation.
As thine own hand unwound me,
Marionetta on a string

In this instance of me, with body dying,
Mine eyes sustain thy decree.
Through smirking face and jowls
anticipating my demise,
I long for a sympathetic glimmer.
Fearing this place in which I lay,
The realization of thy hatred,
Scorges my very soul.
What hope be left in this body,
Haggard from despair,
Hath dissipated,
my humanity revoked.
As I finally see.

Had love and loneliness not brought me to Thee
From whence my well ran dry
The toll mine ignorance has taken on my soul
defiled and stained,
Thy Marionetta on a string

For thy amusement,
be it greater still,
as thy creation fades.
It is not me who holds the strings,
thou has baited,
Nor thee.
Although thy will it to be so,
I fear the puppeteer is He.
The behemoth.
The He whose name is nere spoken,
Lest to beckon His decree.

To be entombed in body broken,
Veneration of thee is naught.
Thou who art standing with bated breath doth wait,
For mine own screams of agony.
Waiting for the me to atone mine own self to thee,
Delighting in the hedonistic seed within.
Implanted and nurtured by He.
The name of Him I forbade my lips to speak.

Forsaken and taking the place of me,
Whose body is now useless.
My presence no longer in need,
To do the bidding of the dark one.
He that slithers and inflicts terror,
In those who choose to see.
This union implemented from you to me
Thy smile will so begin to fade
Hence thou will inherit the strings
To begin the dance which hath begun
Begotten through centuries

I danced and wailed and did your bidding
Now redeemed with repentance
As my words are hushed
I whisper my apologetic ode to Him
He who is greater than to whom your allegiance lies
Whose bidding in which thou laments

Now He whose name is not spoken
Will toll His bell for thee
As mine passing through this life
Will cut the strings from which thou hath strung
Mine own strings replaced with wings of glorious splendor
I pass mine bondage to thee

Oh puppeteer
Whom I forbade another to falsely wag a tongue
A treason of the like would not withstand my onslaught
Upon any I would pounce
This jester is departing unto the light
He who has imparted forgiveness still
Despite my judgement lacking
Thy suffering will soon begin
Mine eyes have seen paradise
Lest the strings in which I have been bound

Thy daggers in which thou enthrall in me are slowly fading
As mine eyes are fading, soul escaping
Eternal slumber, my salvation.
It is thy love I have longed to inherit
Sadly, thy inheritance has cost a greater sum
Greater than any caustic sonnet written by thee
For my inheritance floats atop the clouds
And waits for me

So now to thee I bequeath
The curse thou hath given to me

Marionette on a String

Slán, a ghrá,
Goodbye my love

My final farewell to thee.

Marionetta on a String (Contemporary)

“Complete this task and reap the reward you have been seeking.”

His words still ring in these ears,
revoking my essence and very soul.
His apathetic eyes stinging the one
who used to be me,
Completing the task so to receive your love.
A love from you who spoils and taunts my core,
Only wanting to be seen by more.
My wanting would have a cost.

For what I incurred,
was the curse of you,
Lifeless, motionless and left in vain.
I abided by you with bated breath,
My existence hinged on tidings of love,
Falsified in the advent of your malevolent endeavor.
Your eyes are those of Judas,
And your will is the same of he.

As my eyes flicker left to right,
With body braced and broken,
Having lit the fire,
to follow my beloved’s command.
Determined to appease,
as right dictated the flame
be turned back to me.
Enveloped in Satan‘s hearth,
I wailed and pleaded left to burn,
You keeping vigil as I tempered.

Winged cherubs dispatched
on my behalf,
coming to retrieve my blackened heart
and skin charred to your delight.
And through the flames that charred my flesh,
I spied eyes of evil twinkling.
Dancing and reflecting the me perceived,
Your own creation.
Metamorphosed from autonomy to bondage.
Swearing allegiance and loyalty to you.

Your will became mine,
and in my suffering and despair,
I continued to reverence you.
Becoming a pawn despite expectations to be queen,
Loyalty and conformity became humiliation.
As you unwound me,
Your marionetta on a string

In this instance, with my body dying,
My eyes keep searching for you.
Through smirking face and jowls
anticipating my demise,
I long for a sympathetic glimmer.
Fearing this place in which I lay,
The realization of your hatred,
Scorges my very soul.
What hope was left in this body,
Haggard from despair,
Has dissipated,
my humanity revoked.
As I finally see.

Had love and loneliness not brought me to you
When my well ran dry,
A grave toll ignorance has taken on my soul
defiled and stained,
Your Marionetta on a string

For your amusement,
even greater,
as your creation fades.
It is not me who holds the strings,
you have baited,
Nor you.
Although you will it to be so,
I fear the puppeteer is He.
The behemoth.
The He whose name is never spoken,
Else to beckon His decree.

To be entombed in body broken,
No veneration of you do I seek.
You are standing with bated breath waiting,
To hear my screams of agony.
Waiting for the me to atone myself to you,
Delighting in the hedonistic seed within.
Implanted and nurtured by He.
The name of Him forbidden to speak.

Forsaken and taking the place of me,
Whose body is now useless.
My presence no longer in need,
To do the bidding of the dark one.
He that slithers and inflicts terror,
In those who choose to see.
This union implemented from you to me
Your smile will soon begin to fade
As you will inherit the strings
To begin the dance which has begun
Begotten through centuries

I danced and wailed and did your bidding
Now redeemed with repentance
As my words are hushed
I whisper my apologetic ode to Him
He who is greater than to whom your allegiance lies
Whose bidding in which you lament

Now He whose name is not spoken
Will toll His bell for you
As my passing through this life
Will cut the strings from which you have strung
My own strings replaced with wings of glorious splendor
I pass my bondage to you

Oh puppeteer
Who I have forbidden another to falsely wag a tongue
A treason of the like would not withstand my onslaught
Upon any I would pounce

This jester is departing unto the light
The light of God who has forgiven me
Despite my bad judgement

Your suffering will soon begin
My eyes have seen paradise
Free from the strings in which I have been bound

Your daggers which you throw at
me are slowly fading
As my eyes are shading, soul escaping
Eternal slumber, my salvation.
It is your love I have longed to inherit
Sadly, your inheritance has cost a greater sum
Greater than any caustic sonnet written by you
For my inheritance floats atop the clouds
And waits for me

So now to you I give back
The curse you had given to me

Marionette on a String

Slán, a ghrá,
Goodbye my love

My final farewell.
And Peace.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

