Kindle eBook Publishing Tips

So, I posted how I published my Poetry eBook to Kindle. 

It is slightly daunting if you aren’t computer savvy, but once you work on it for a while, it gets easier.

I suggest to watch the video KDP offers while you are working on formatting the book. 

The Table of Contents part can be confusing.  That was the most confusing part for me.  But after watching the video, I got it.

The trick is to use the heading features in your word program.

ex.  Title page, dedication, Preface
Use a heading which will not be in the table of contents.
When someone downloads the book, they will see that as they scroll down.

For my poetry book, I used Heading 1 for topics and Heading two for titles of poems.
Then, as I posted my poems into the document, I highlited the title and clicked
Heading 2.

Then they tell you to save it as a web page, filter HTML.
But, in 2007 and 2010 versions of work, the HTML option isn’t there.
So, I saved it as the web page, filtered, went through it and fixed anything I saw that wasn’t right.  Then I saved it again.

They suggest that you insert the cover page into the document.
DON’T DO IT!
Just upload the cover image when the option comes up and make sure to save it as a jpeg.  I inserted the photo into the doc and when it came live, there was a wierd picture there but not the cover image.  My cover image was a painting my daughter made and it fit the book perfectly.  Then I used an online editor to add the text.  Don’t go out and buy some fancy adobe photoshop, unless you want it, because it isn’t necessary.

Luckily, you can go back in and re-upload the book.
That is what I did a few minutes ago.

Another thing is not to worry about fancy fonts and sizes.  It all changes once it is live.
Because buyers can download the book to kindle, kindle fire, kindle HD, Ipad and Iphone, it won’t be the pretty little book that you saw on your computer.

Lasty, copyright the work prior to publishing.  It’s easy.  You can do it online at the Library of Congress website and it’s $35.00.  I did it last night before I uploaded the book.

Well, that’s my experience up to now and I hope it helps anyone who is consider it.
I figured maybe I could make a few bucks on my poems and I have nothing to lose.

Good luck.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kindle eBook Publishing Tips

  1. Pingback: Exciting New Book! | Mysteries of the Orient

Leave a Reply

