Am I Hallucinating?

Am I hallucinating?

I sit here watching the news and I am completely baffled.
I am unquestionably stunned by today’s events in Boston.

I live in Newtown, CT. It has been a little over 4 months since the shooting here where innocence was taken and a community and country changed as a result.

I have to be honest here. Children are shot and killed in communities all over this country every day. I see it on the news and I shake my head and say a prayer. But when tragedy strikes close to home, you realize it isn’t just happening somewhere else.

The fact that these tragedies are happening more frequently and on a larger scale, and here in the US, is just plain scary. Whether its organized terrorists or home grown, does it really matter?

All I can say is that no matter who the perpetrators are, it is evil. Evil and hate against all people. Whatever the reasons are behind these acts of violence, again I say hate!

I’m not politically minded. I don’t try to act as if I know more than anyone else, I just know that as a member of the human race, I am disgusted.

I know there are people living in countries where this stuff happens all the time and although I can’t imagine the fear they live with, this is the USA. I shouldn’t have to worry about explosions and shootings, etc.

I know the world will never be like the old coca cola commercial where everyone is holding hands and singing, but what the hell is going on?

How can someone or some group if people have such deep seeded anger, such hate for others to kill randomly and kill children and people they’ve never met or know anything about.

If you’re pissed off at the world, or pissed off because you lost your job, or pissed off because you got dealt a bad hand in life, or pissed off because I say God and you say something else, GET OVER IT!!!

I’m not a religious fanatic, nor do I subscribe to doomsday theories, but I do have a Bible, and I do read it.

This is getting scary folks.

Besides all that, I send out my prayers to those in Boston who were affected by today’s events.

I send those same prayers out to the child I see on the news who was killed in a random shooting, as well as the same for all the people in a town in the world that was attacked, and the same for those suffering genocide, those starving, those lost, etc.

Prayers go out to anyone who is suffering needlessly.

Prayers should not change by the victim, or the neighborhood, religion, color, country, belief system or economic status.

But for the grace of God go I….people.
That means, if it can happen to you, it can happen to me.
How I treat others is how I get treated.

We are all the same. We are all born the same way and go out the same way. Birth and death. We all have that in common not matter what. It’s all the crap in between that makes us different.

God can and will save us, all of us, no matter what you call Him. All that money and all that stuff and all those friends and all those the things we waste our time and energy on instead of living free and happy won’t go with you in the end.

He won’t stop someone from pulling a trigger or flipping a switch. He won’t say, “Hey, don’t do that” or “you’re doing a great job.” That’s all human will and faith.

So my prayers go out to you all wherever you may be.

I leave you all tonight confused, afraid and sad.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in I Live in Newtown and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

