Are You’re Words Collecting Dust? Publish Them Already!!!

At the end of last week, I “published” my poetry e-book on Kindle.
As some of you have already seen on my blog.  I know there are may people out there who do not feel that uploading a book to  Kindle is considered “being published.”

I say to those who are still on the fence.  “Do it!”

Here is the logic I use to make that statement.

While many of us have writings and poems in notebooks or sitting on computers waiting to be accepted by traditional publishers, it is apparent that they are just sitting.  No one is reading them.

But to put ourselves out there, without the “okay” from “real” writers, we are putting ourselves at risk.

But to wait, we are also taking the chance of our words never being read.  So, do we put ourselves out there or do we wait?
And wait and wait and wait.

My feeling is “why wait?”  Why put all of our eggs in some publisher’s  basket, sitting in an office going through manuscripts when in a few short hours, you can have your writing on the internet, for sale, and exposed to millions of people?

It is the notoriety you seek?  Is it the stigma of becoming the next greatest author?  If you read on the internet about self publishing, a great many well-known authors began just that way.  Having put their work out there, they were discovered by traditional publishers and given deals to publish.

I would say, and I’m not alone in this, that the greatest marketing tool for your words would be exposing it to the millions who download every day.  Those who borrow on Amazon Prime and then decide to buy the book.

I know there are still many of us, including me, who like having books in our hands when we read them.  I love everything about books.  I love the way they smell, I love the way the pages feel and I love to feel the bindings and wonder who created them.  I can sit in the library amongst the oldest books and just take in the scent, the aura and all that knowledge and creativity.  It’s Zen!  Just carrying a book in my hands is like a security blanket for me.  I just love it.  But how many books have you purchased that ended up in a box in the attic?  How many books are sitting on your bedside table half read or waiting.  I know at this very moment there are six books on my bedside table collecting dust.

At night when I am in bed and I feel like reading, it is much easier for me to hold the Kindle than hold a book.  Or what about all the mommy’s out there who hand over their iPad‘s to the kids when they need them to sit still or behave for a little while.  Well, rather than having them play a game, they can download a picture book for the children to read and interact.

This brings me to my friend Margaret.  She is a wonderful author.  One of the best children and adult author’s I think I’ve ever read.  She is a wonderful illustrator as well.  I think in her workshop, she has at least twenty or thirty finished books.

Guess what?

No one outside of her friends and family have ever even seen the books.  That’s right.  No one.

Yesterday, I went to her and said, “Enough is enough!”  I copied three book files from her computer, yes they are all digital already, and brought them home.  I told her I was going to put them on Amazon.  I said that she needed her books to be seen and read.  I also told her that after they were uploaded to kindle, I would then submit them to Amazon CreateSpace, where they can then be printed and sold as “real” books.  All at no cost! The only cost you would willingly incur is to pay the $39 fee to have your book sent to other markets online in addition to Amazon.  Then you pay $5 per year to maintain.  Sounds like a good deal to me!

So, not only will her stories be exposed to millions, they will then have the option of purchasing the soft cover version.  No hard covers on CreateSpace.

Having explained this to her, she agreed and we are now on the path to publishing all of her wonderful books in which I will place a link on my page once they are on Amazon.

Don’t get me wrong, I feel your pain.  I know how it feels to want to be validated by the publishing world.  I know that when you tell someone you published a book and they ask where, you cringe to say, Kindle or Amazon.  Or the dreaded, “I self-published!”  Believe me, I have been through it.  But regardless of how it was done, you are a published author.

My answer is always and will remain, “Get over it!!!”

The point I am desperately trying to make here is this;
Do you want your words to be read, or sit in a closet unread?

It is completely up to you.  Not everyone has a friend like me who is computer savvy and can format pages for upload, etc.

But, it is possible.  In face, if you go to the Hire Me page, I can be contracted to do exactly that.  What I am doing for Margaret can definitely be done for anyone.  And…..I’m definately cheaper that what’s being offered.  You an also watch the tutorial on Amazon, or ask your neighbors teenager or go to the local library for a computer course.

So the choice is yours.  Either do it or don’t.  I just can’t see people writing such beautiful words and no one ever seeing them.

Unless you don’t want anyone reading your words.
Then you’ve read this whole article for nothing.  Sorry:)

Good Luck and peace be with you all!

 

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are You’re Words Collecting Dust? Publish Them Already!!!

  1. Pingback: Teens love reading E-books! | Let's read e-books!

  2. Pingback: E-books really good for children? | Let's read e-books!

  3. Thanks for the comment

Leave a Reply

