How Hard Boiled Eggs Changed My Day

My children are off this week for spring break.  My daughter’s friend came over to hang out with her.  Her friend came in the kitchen while my daughter was peeling a hard boiled egg that was colored for Easter.  We eat them.

My daughter’s friend said “You eat those?”
My daughter said, “Yes.  You want one?”
She said, “No.  I didn’t know you could eat them after they were colored.”
I was in the kitchen and I said, “Sure.  They are hard boiled.”
She said, “What’s that?”  

Then it struck me how different we all are.  Her heritage is Brazilian and our heritage is Irish/Italian.  Now I don’t know if it’s her heritage or just that her mother doesn’t like hard boiled eggs.  It also struck me how fast my mind went to her heritage and not that maybe they just don’t like hard boiled eggs.  You see where I’m going with this.

I don’t consider myself biased or racist in any way.  But my mind, went right to where she’s from and not her as an individual just not liking hard boiled eggs.

This brings me to what goes on every day in our society, in our cities, in our little towns, in our churches, in supermarkets, parking lots, etc.

How many times do you say hello to someone who is a different “color” or who is just different from you and immediately think, “different?”  I think it happens more frequently than we realize.  Many of us, including me, correct the thought and say to myself, “same.”
I think “God made us all, loves us all, and we are not different.”

It’s not easy.  There also is the part of where I, “white”, will go out of my way to make someone who is “different” know that I am not prejudice.  I think that’s even worse.  Because I inadvertantley am not treating them as equal and same, I am treating them differently than I would treat any other “white” person I come into contact with every day.

How do I or we as a society break away from this?
How do we get to a point in our minds and in our acts so that we do not just see differences, and just see each other as human beings?

All this happened before the Boston Bombing occurred.
The events then prompted me to re-think the eggs.

I know that the attack was meant for anyone who came across its path regardless of color, creed, etc.  It was just meant to kill and cause chaos.

But it did get me thinking.
I know that I, in my own life, try to be open and loving to all who I encounter.
I was born in a city where there were many different people.  We lived together.

I wonder if growing up in a place where there were many different cultures and religions was better than growing up in a place where people of color are almost non-existent.

How do we teach our children, who are so important, to view everyone with love. My children live in such a town.  There is no sign at the ext that says “Stay out if you are different” it is just the way it is.  It was strange for me in the beginning when we moved here.

But, my children, who’ve grown up in this town, are quick to say, “You shouldn’t say that” or “That’s not nice.”   Are they learning that we are all equal depite the lack of diversity?

It’s a hard position.  Because on the other side of this, we are different.  We do have different traditions and different cultures.  We should celebrate our differences and revel in each others rich cultures.

So what is the answer?

I don’t think there is an answer.

All I know is that I will continue to do what I do and hopefully teach my children the like.

I will love.  I will love.  I will love.

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

