Today As I Lay

Today As I Lay
A Poem

Today as I lay
In this bed that I’ve made
I review and dissect
What I shouldn’t engage
For sadly it seems
As hard as I try
I’ll wake up tomorrow
In the same state of mind

But wait!
Am I getting,
An answer?
A message?
That’s right….
It’s the quote sitting on my bed table.
It says what I need!
To see every eve!
When I lay in my bed,
Staring at my ceiling.

So noble a quote!
Such words nere’ are spoken.
They keep me together.
When I’m feeling self loathing.

Get ready…
It’s coming…
Get your eyes wide and focused.
The quote is a note
I received from my Charlotte.

It reads:

To Mommy,
I love you
And wanted to say.
Thanks for the cupcakes
The song and the day
You’re Queen of the Fairies
I know that it’s true!
But I’ll keep your secret
If you want me to.

What brilliance.
What talent.
Such words, inspiration.
I share them with you
Just in case yours are broken

About goplayintraffic

My Blog, which began as a mommy blog and turned into a writing website, www.write2survive.com, is the product of my years of being home with my children and trying to find ways to keep myself sane. I have always had this feeling, coming from a single mother, that I have to contribute financially and that I have to be able to take care of myself and my children. having been married, being a NYC school teacher, having four children, living in Newtown, CT and trying to find a way to get through each day with a smile has always been something I've strived for. My stories, articles and poems will do a lot of things but mostly make you feel. I think that is what is so wonderful about having the ability to write. I have been given the gift of taking my emotions and transferring them to written word. Once that is done, I can share those words with others who may feel better, maybe just for a moment, but better nonetheless having read my words. I am glad you are here and hope you will stay:)
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

